Case Study

The Force has set up Animal Crime Police Teams in 22 Police districts to professionally investigate animal cruelty cases. Between 2014 and 2018, the average number of cruelty to animals cases the Force has received is around 80, with figures reaching the peak in 2018 (i.e. 105 cases). With the Force’s persistent efforts under the multi-agency approach, dedication of the designated investigation teams and related publicity and education campaigns, the figures have retreated to around 60 in the recent two years.

In 2019, the Force received 60 cruelty to animals cases with 33 cases detected and 36 persons arrested.

In 2020, the Force received 70 cruelty to animals cases with 39 cases detected and 50 persons arrested.

However, most of the time, animal cruelty cases occur without the presence of eye witnesses, which increased the difficulties in investigation. Therefore, the provision of useful information from the public is pivotal in assisting the investigation of animal cruelty cases. Apart from the professional investigation by designated teams, members of the public may watch out the following aspects in order to assist the Force in combatting acts of cruelty to animals:

Careful Observation

In April 2020, a photo of suspected ill-treatment against a dog in the garden of a house in Yuen Long went viral on the Internet. Subsequently, an informant personally attended the scene and performed very close and careful observation of the situation. Apart from confirming that the dog has injuries on its ears, the informant also noticed the extremely poor living environment of the dog. Upon consulting veterinary opinion, a report was made to the Police.

Upon investigation by the designated team, the Police found that the dog owner had failed to provide sufficient food and water to the dog. Eventually, the dog owner was charged with “Cruelty to Animals” and sentenced to 160-hour community service order.

Immediate Intervention

In November 2019, a Cheung Chau resident discovered that her neighbour was trying to feed sausages with pills to her dog. She immediately stopped the neighbour and reported the case to the Police.

Upon investigation by the designated team, it was discovered that the culprit committed the crime as he was dissatisfied with the barking of the dog. Although the culprit defended in court that he only wished to calm the dog down without any intention to harm it, the Magistrate considered that the feeding of 6 capsules of painkillers for human use at a time was obviously an intention to cause unnecessary harm to the dog. Eventually, the culprit was found guilty of “Attempted Cruelty to Animal” and sentenced to 4-week imprisonment, suspended for 18 months.

Watch Out for Evidence

In October 2017, a security guard of Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital discovered that several turtles were found dead in the pond with pencils piercing through their bodies. Case was reported to the Police.

Upon taking over the investigation, the designated team followed closely on the leads disclosed by the exhibits left at the scene, including the pencils involved and the packaging of the bread which were used to feed the turtles. Eventually, the culprit was identified, charged with “Cruelty to Animals” and sentenced to 3-month imprisonment.

Come Forward

In January 2020, several video clips of cruel treatments against dogs in a pet grooming shop in Tai Po went viral on the Internet. In the clips, the offender repeatedly kicks and beats the dogs with rattan stick and the incident has aroused wide public concerns.

Upon taking over the investigation, the designated team made rounds of public appeals for information which led to owners of the victimised dogs and other key witnesses coming forward to provide information and give statements. Eventually, the owner of the pet grooming shop was charged with “Cruelty to Animals” and sentenced to 8-month imprisonment.

案例分析

警方已於全港22個警區設立 「動物罪案警察專隊」,專門處理當區的殘酷對待動物個案。於2014至2018年,警方每年接獲殘酷對待動物的案件數字平均近80宗,在2018年甚至達105宗。但透過警方多年來的多機構協作模式、專責調查隊的努力以及相關宣傳教育工作,近兩年的案件數字已回落至60多宗。

於2019年,警方接獲60宗殘酷對待動物案件,並偵破當中的33宗及拘捕36人。而於2020年,警方接獲70宗殘酷對待動物案件,並偵破當中的39宗及拘捕50人。

然而,大部份時候,殘酷對待動物案件發生時並沒有證人在場,增加調查難度。因此,警方十分需要公眾提供有助調查的資料,以協助破案。除了由專責調查隊進行專業調查,大家可以留意以下重點,一同協助打擊殘酷對待動物行為:

仔細觀察

2020年4月,網上流傳一張懷疑於元朗區一住宅的花園被殘酷對待的狗隻的相片。期後,一名熱心市民親自到現場仔細反覆觀察,除確認狗隻耳朵上有傷勢外,亦留意到現場衛生環境欠佳。經諮詢獸醫意見後,該名市民報警求助。

經專責調查隊調查後,警方發現狗主並沒有提供足夠食物及水予狗隻。最終,狗主被控「殘酷對待動物」,被判160小時社會服務令。

即時介入

2019年11月,一名長洲居民發現鄰居在她家門外企圖將夾有藥丸的香腸餵予其狗隻。狗主立即阻止,並報警求助。

經專責調查隊調查後,發現該涉案人士一直對狗隻發出的狗吠聲感到不滿,因而犯案。雖然涉案人士在法庭上辯稱只想令狗隻冷靜,並無意傷害狗隻,但裁判官認為他意圖一次餵狗隻服用6粒供人類服用的止痛藥,明顯有意圖令狗隻受到不必要的傷害,因此裁定他「企圖殘酷對待動物罪」成立,判監4星期, 緩刑18個月。

留意證物

2017年10月,東區醫院一名保安員發現院內龜池有數隻烏龜被鉛筆插穿身體並死亡,隨即報警求助。

專責調查隊接手調查後,從現場遺下的證物(包括涉案的鉛筆及用來餵龜的麵包袋)展開深入調查,最終鎖定疑犯並將其拘捕。涉案人士被控「殘酷對待動物」,被判監3個月。

挺身而出

2020年1月,網上流傳多條發生在大埔一間寵物美容店的虐狗片段,片段中,涉案人士對狗隻多次拳打腳踢,更用藤條虐打狗隻,事件引起市民高度關注。

專責調查隊接手調查後,積極呼籲公眾提供資料。隨後,眾多被害狗隻的主人及知情人士挺身作證。最終,寵物美容店的店主被控「殘酷對待動物」,被判監8個月。