Inter-departmental Counter Terrorism Unit

Crime Matters

Banner: Inter-departmental Counter Terrorism Unit (ICTU)

Inter-departmental Counter Terrorism Unit (ICTU) was set up in April 2018, comprising members from six law enforcement agencies, namely the Hong Kong Police Force, Immigration Department, Customs and Excise Department, Correctional Services Department, Fire Services Department and Government Flying Service.  The strategy of ICTU focuses on setting up an inter-departmental CT platform on top of the existing CT framework to strengthen the HKSAR Government’s overall CT capability.

ICTU collaborates with relevant departments in establishing a CT intelligence exchange mechanism and work platform to enhance integration and analysis of intelligence; conducting inter-departmental CT exercises and training to ensure response and emergency services as well as supporting personnel are well prepared at all times, while focusing on strengthening the cooperation and synergy among various departments.  Furthermore, ICTU coordinates the efforts of various departments in promoting CT awareness and education among the public.